Android Plugin

Discussion and support for individual OSA plugins
Message
Author
JerLarge
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2013 6:02 pm

Re: Android Plugin

#41 Post by JerLarge » Mon Jun 17, 2013 7:04 pm

there is no GCMID property, for the android device, the only property is OWNER

edit - so i added GCMID string to the object type, and it works perfect.

fiveHellions
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 12:12 pm

Re: Android Plugin

#42 Post by fiveHellions » Mon Jun 17, 2013 7:49 pm

Wow.. . That's odd. I I wonder why it didn't add that property to the android device object type when the plugin was installed.

Glad you got it working.

User avatar
seansco
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2013 6:54 am
Contact:

Re: Android Plugin

#43 Post by seansco » Thu Nov 21, 2013 6:48 am

JerLarge wrote:there is no GCMID property, for the android device, the only property is OWNER

edit - so i added GCMID string to the object type, and it works perfect.
Same problem. Once I did this it started working for me :D

User avatar
seansco
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2013 6:54 am
Contact:

Re: Android Plugin

#44 Post by seansco » Fri Nov 22, 2013 9:50 am

I was wondering how to clear off the alerts sent to the phone?

User avatar
seansco
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2013 6:54 am
Contact:

Re: Android Plugin

#45 Post by seansco » Fri Nov 22, 2013 12:37 pm

I can seem to get tasker to start a task on my phone. Notifications are working but execute isn't working. I set up the task in tasker and made sure I was executing the task with the right case "Vibrate" but nothing. Any ideas?

android log---
11/22/2013 02:10:53.241 PM - Found Command: EXECUTE | param1: Vibrate | param2:
11/22/2013 02:10:53.261 PM - EXECUTE event triggered (Sean's Droid), parameter_1=Vibrate, parameter_2=
11/22/2013 02:10:53.264 PM - address = -----removed---- - GCM response new version = {"multicast_id":-----removed----,"success":1,"failure":0,"canonical_ids":0,"results":[{"message_id":"-----removed----"}]}

fiveHellions
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 12:12 pm

Re: Android Plugin

#46 Post by fiveHellions » Thu Dec 19, 2013 8:24 am

Sorry I don't know how I missed this.

I think there may be two things possibly preventing starting tasks on the phone.

1) There is an option in tasker in the preferences under the misc tab called 'allow external access'. Make sure this is checked.

2) When I tried to troubleshoot and run a task it wouldn't run even after I had that checked. I was still getting a permission denied from tasker in the logs. I researched and found out that if you install tasker after the app, then sometimes the app still won't be allowed to run tasks. So I uninstalled the osa app and reinstalled and it started working.

I will make sure to put this in the wiki to help anybody else trying to get tasks to run on their phone.

User avatar
seansco
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2013 6:54 am
Contact:

Re: Android Plugin

#47 Post by seansco » Thu Dec 19, 2013 8:47 am

i'll give these a try and let you know. Thanks

tommysharp
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 1:02 pm

Re: Android Plugin

#48 Post by tommysharp » Sun Jun 29, 2014 10:53 pm

Does anyone know if this plugin still works? I loaded up the plugin and also the android app on my phone. Seems to connect but will not create an object for the phone. Although I am flying blind as couldn't find any instructions of any sort....

Automate
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2010 1:44 pm
Location: US

Re: Android Plugin

#49 Post by Automate » Mon Jun 30, 2014 2:13 am

Should work with most phones/tablets.

Do your OSA Mobile Web pages work? This should work even if the plug and/or Android app is not installed.

Is your Android device connected to the local WiFi LAN? Is your OSA REST plugin turned on?

fiveHellions
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 12:12 pm

Re: Android Plugin

#50 Post by fiveHellions » Mon Jun 30, 2014 5:59 am

Like Automate said. Verify that your REST plugin is working since it uses REST to communicate with the server. Also make sure you are on your local network or that you have port 8732 forwarded to outside your network.

Here is a link to the wiki for some documentation.

http://www.opensourceautomation.com/wik ... le=Android

Post Reply