Creating first ever screen : NullReferenceException

Post here if you are having difficulty getting OSA up and running
Message
Author
User avatar
kherron
Posts: 646
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 10:44 am
Location: Jacksonville, Fl.
Contact:

Re: Creating first ever screen : NullReferenceException

#11 Post by kherron » Tue Jul 01, 2014 5:37 pm

What happens if you click one of the select buttons?

Also, this still looks like the old screen.

What version OSA are you running?

tommysharp
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 1:02 pm

Re: Creating first ever screen : NullReferenceException

#12 Post by tommysharp » Tue Jul 01, 2014 9:59 pm

This is the file I downloaded to install... Can I see the version number anywhere? OSA website also says I'm running 0.4.3 if I go to the settings page.

OSA_Server_v0.4.3_x86_x64.exe
What happens if you click one of the select buttons?
If I click a select button then it brings up all the images and I get to pick one.

User avatar
kherron
Posts: 646
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 10:44 am
Location: Jacksonville, Fl.
Contact:

Re: Creating first ever screen : NullReferenceException

#13 Post by kherron » Wed Jul 02, 2014 5:32 am

OK, you are definitely running 0.4.3.

Forgive me if I'm wrong, but isn't the screenshot Automate posted from 0.4.4??

Even mine looks like Automates not

Will the latest OSAE.UI.Controls.dll work under 0.4.3?

Automate
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2010 1:44 pm
Location: US

Re: Creating first ever screen : NullReferenceException

#14 Post by Automate » Wed Jul 02, 2014 7:59 am

My screen shot is from 0.4.3 but with the OSAE.UI.Controls.dll attached.

Can someone else test and post what they get?
Attachments
OSAE.UI.Controls.dll.zip
(24.19 KiB) Downloaded 78 times

Vaughn
Site Admin
Posts: 1432
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 2:17 pm

Re: Creating first ever screen : NullReferenceException

#15 Post by Vaughn » Wed Jul 02, 2014 8:26 am

File size was capped at 100k which gave me a problem loading backgrounds. So them my screen was pointing to an image that did not exist and it gave me null errors. I trapped the main screen's error with an invalid background image, but I still need to fix the "Change Screen" selection, as an invalid image is still causing a null error there.

I am doing a lot of tweaks to the gui this release, so hopefully will catch much of this...


Vaughn

User avatar
kherron
Posts: 646
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 10:44 am
Location: Jacksonville, Fl.
Contact:

Re: Creating first ever screen : NullReferenceException

#16 Post by kherron » Thu Jul 03, 2014 5:49 am

Can someone else test and post what they get?
Just tried it and it works fine here.

I can add a state image, and a weather object with no issues.

Also, the State Image Add screen does look like your screenshot, not like tommysharp's

tommysharp
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 1:02 pm

Re: Creating first ever screen : NullReferenceException

#17 Post by tommysharp » Thu Jul 03, 2014 11:44 am

Mine is a fresh install about a week old so should match everyone else's.... Very strange.

Any other screenshots I can do to look for differences?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Vaughn
Site Admin
Posts: 1432
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 2:17 pm

Re: Creating first ever screen : NullReferenceException

#18 Post by Vaughn » Thu Jul 03, 2014 12:55 pm

As far as I can tell, the only thing generating these errors are image issues. For example, you can go rename the Background Image on your screens, and it will blow up the GUI when those images can't be found. So if you have a control crashing the app, try deleteing the image names, or using a known good image name to test it.


In the current version, I have been breaking the names on purpose just to trap these errors. I think it will help alot. Version 044 not only fixes some of these errors, but it allows you to edit any of the controls right from the screens application too. I think everyone will be much happier with the latest version of Screens.


Vaughn

tommysharp
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 1:02 pm

Re: Creating first ever screen : NullReferenceException

#19 Post by tommysharp » Thu Jul 03, 2014 1:24 pm

Okay cool, thanks Vaughn... Will give that a try...

You knew this question was coming..... How are you feeling on time frames for an 044 release? Weeks, Months, Years?

Automate
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2010 1:44 pm
Location: US

Re: Creating first ever screen : NullReferenceException

#20 Post by Automate » Thu Jul 03, 2014 1:34 pm

Brian W may have to answer about 0.4.4

What is the file date/time on C:\Program Files\OSA\OSAE.UI.Controls.dll

Post Reply