Anyone have hardware that works with an RFXCOM tranceiver?

Message
Author
krish
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 3:50 pm

Re: Anyone have hardware that works with an RFXCOM tranceive

#11 Post by krish » Fri Jul 13, 2012 8:55 am

Any progress on the plugin?

User avatar
bwoodworth
Site Admin
Posts: 1563
Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 6:49 am
Location: California

Re: Anyone have hardware that works with an RFXCOM tranceive

#12 Post by bwoodworth » Sun Jul 15, 2012 12:39 pm

Sorry for the delay on this. I have uploaded a new version of this plugin to the plugins page. I have no way of testing the new functionality, but you should be able to turn off, on and set the level of your LightWaveRF dimmers. Please let me know how it works for you.
Brian

krish
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 3:50 pm

Re: Anyone have hardware that works with an RFXCOM tranceive

#13 Post by krish » Tue Jul 17, 2012 5:29 am

Thanks for the plugin but I'm having a little trouble using it. I don't really know how to use the plugin to actually control the lights. So far all I've been able to do with OSA is install it and create a home screen for the GUI, I'm a little lost when it comes to the actual control part. Are there any tutorials available other than the two videos?

UPDATE:
OK I've been playing around with it and think I basically know how to use it now but I still have no idea how to set the LightwaveRF device ID and unit code.

User avatar
bwoodworth
Site Admin
Posts: 1563
Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 6:49 am
Location: California

Re: Anyone have hardware that works with an RFXCOM tranceive

#14 Post by bwoodworth » Tue Jul 17, 2012 8:12 am

I'm sorry, I should have at least told you how to set up your devices. It is in no way self explanatory.

When you first install the plugin and start the service OSA will create a RFXCOM plugin object. Then you need to go into the object types screen and set the LIGHTWAVERF object type to be owned by your RFXCOM plugin object. This is necessary because it is possible that there are other plugins that may be able to control that type of object ans we need to specify which plugin will handle commands for that type. Now you need to set up your light. Basically the device ID and unit code make up the address for the object in OSA. I am not entirely sure what the device ID and unit codes look like, but I think the device ID is something like XX-XX-XX and the unit code is a single number YY. If that is correct, then the address of the object in OSA should be XX-XX-XX-YY. After installing the plugin you should be able to create an object of type 'LIGHTWAVERF'. Once you create it, set the address and then try to run the ON/OFF methods.

Hopefully that helps. Let me know if you have any other questions.
Brian

krish
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 3:50 pm

Re: Anyone have hardware that works with an RFXCOM tranceive

#15 Post by krish » Tue Jul 17, 2012 12:16 pm

OK I believe I have it set up correctly but it doesn't seem to be working. How should I be running the ON/OFF methods?

User avatar
bwoodworth
Site Admin
Posts: 1563
Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 6:49 am
Location: California

Re: Anyone have hardware that works with an RFXCOM tranceive

#16 Post by bwoodworth » Tue Jul 17, 2012 12:20 pm

You can run them using the methods drop down list when you select you object in the objects screen. Can you check to see if the RFXCOM log has anything written to it?
Brian

krish
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 3:50 pm

Re: Anyone have hardware that works with an RFXCOM tranceive

#17 Post by krish » Tue Jul 17, 2012 12:37 pm

The log is just giving me: RFXtrx433 firmware version must be > 28, flash your RFXtrx433 with the latest firmware.
My firmware is currently 46 so I don't know why it's giving me this error.

User avatar
bwoodworth
Site Admin
Posts: 1563
Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 6:49 am
Location: California

Re: Anyone have hardware that works with an RFXCOM tranceive

#18 Post by bwoodworth » Tue Jul 17, 2012 12:41 pm

Would you mind posting the whole log so I can get a better idea about what is going on?
Brian

krish
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 3:50 pm

Re: Anyone have hardware that works with an RFXCOM tranceive

#19 Post by krish » Tue Jul 17, 2012 1:06 pm

Code: Select all

07/17/2012 09:34:52.831 PM - ================================================
07/17/2012 09:34:52.834 PM - Reset receiver/transceiver:
07/17/2012 09:34:52.836 PM - 13 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 
07/17/2012 09:34:53.373 PM - ================================================
07/17/2012 09:34:53.375 PM - Get Status:
07/17/2012 09:34:53.378 PM - 13 00 00 01 02 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 
07/17/2012 09:35:07.937 PM - RFXtrx433 firmware version must be > 28, flash your RFXtrx433 with the latest firmware
07/17/2012 09:35:13.320 PM - RFXtrx433 firmware version must be > 28, flash your RFXtrx433 with the latest firmware
07/17/2012 09:35:40.533 PM - RFXtrx433 firmware version must be > 28, flash your RFXtrx433 with the latest firmware
07/17/2012 09:35:42.887 PM - RFXtrx433 firmware version must be > 28, flash your RFXtrx433 with the latest firmware

User avatar
bwoodworth
Site Admin
Posts: 1563
Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 6:49 am
Location: California

Re: Anyone have hardware that works with an RFXCOM tranceive

#20 Post by bwoodworth » Tue Jul 17, 2012 1:07 pm

I just updated my unit to v46 and I am seeing the same thing now. For some reason it isn't getting all the data about the device on the initial load. I'm looking into it.
Brian

Post Reply