Anyone have hardware that works with an RFXCOM tranceiver?

Message
Author
User avatar
bwoodworth
Site Admin
Posts: 1563
Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 6:49 am
Location: California

Anyone have hardware that works with an RFXCOM tranceiver?

#1 Post by bwoodworth » Thu Apr 19, 2012 2:47 pm

I recently ordered a RFXCOM tranceiver since it is a pretty popular home automation piece of hardware. It will be a good thing to add support for in OSA. The only problem is that it is really meant for people in Europe since all of the devices that it supports are for the UK and European market. It supports a ton of devices. A list can be found on the RFXCOM site: http://www.rfxcom.com/

If anyone has any of the supported hardware and a RFXCOM tranceiver and is willing to test out the plugin as I develop it please let me know. I don't have any of the hardware so it will be hard to test.
Brian

shorty.xs
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 12:01 am

Re: Anyone have hardware that works with an RFXCOM tranceive

#2 Post by shorty.xs » Mon Apr 23, 2012 7:05 am

Very interesting product, but I won't go for 433MHz, if possible.

Looks very smiliar to the Busware products, that are in heavy use at the FHEM project:
http://www.busware.de/tiki-index.php?page=CUL
http://www.busware.de/tiki-index.php?page=CUNO

But they use 868MHz, RFXCOM is on 433MHz.

Automate
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2010 1:44 pm
Location: US

Re: Anyone have hardware that works with an RFXCOM tranceive

#3 Post by Automate » Mon Apr 23, 2012 8:11 am

Oregon Scientific weather sensors use 433Mhz. You should be able to pick up a temperature/humidity sensor for fairly cheap. Of course this will only use the receive capability (not transmit) of the RFXCOM.

User avatar
bwoodworth
Site Admin
Posts: 1563
Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 6:49 am
Location: California

Re: Anyone have hardware that works with an RFXCOM tranceive

#4 Post by bwoodworth » Tue Apr 24, 2012 8:21 am

The RXFCOM supports many cheap European lamp and appliance modules using 433.92 like:

Intertechno - Germany, Austria
Chacon - Belgium, France, Spain
HomeEasy - UK
HomeEasy EU - all EU countries except UK
KlikAanKlikUit - The Netherlands
NEXA - Northern Europe

This is just a small list of the supported devices I got from the RFXCOM guys.
Brian

Automate
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2010 1:44 pm
Location: US

Re: Anyone have hardware that works with an RFXCOM tranceive

#5 Post by Automate » Tue Apr 24, 2012 9:17 am

I mentioned Oregon Scientific because it is the only 433Mhz device that I know of that is on the RFXCOM list and sold in the US.

User avatar
bwoodworth
Site Admin
Posts: 1563
Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 6:49 am
Location: California

Re: Anyone have hardware that works with an RFXCOM tranceive

#6 Post by bwoodworth » Tue Apr 24, 2012 9:21 am

Yeah, I think OS is the best bet for those of us in the US. I was mostly responding to shorty.
Brian

shorty.xs
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 12:01 am

Re: Anyone have hardware that works with an RFXCOM tranceive

#7 Post by shorty.xs » Thu Apr 26, 2012 3:19 am

Hi Brian,
you're absolutely right. I double checked, and found out, that for weather data, most devices available in germany should be compatible with this USB device.

krish
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 3:50 pm

Re: Anyone have hardware that works with an RFXCOM tranceive

#8 Post by krish » Sat Jun 30, 2012 4:03 pm

Hello there, I'm new to OSA and am about to purchase an RFXCOM transceiver for use with LightwaveRF (in the UK).
At the moment it looks like it'll be a little complicated to get it working using this as opposed to the official wifi link. For an idea of what will be involved you can look here.
Let me know if you're at all interested in this.

User avatar
bwoodworth
Site Admin
Posts: 1563
Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 6:49 am
Location: California

Re: Anyone have hardware that works with an RFXCOM tranceive

#9 Post by bwoodworth » Sun Jul 01, 2012 9:03 am

I will definitely be adding support for LightwaveRF. If you are willing to test it that would be great. I should have support added within a few days.
Brian

krish
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 3:50 pm

Re: Anyone have hardware that works with an RFXCOM tranceive

#10 Post by krish » Sun Jul 01, 2012 9:20 am

Excellent, I'll try and buy the rfxcom and lightwave products within the next few days. I'd be more than happy to test your plugin out.

UPDATE: I have just received my RFXCOM and LightwaveRF lighting switch. However I'm not sure how to set or find the device ID or unit code which are required to transmit instructions. Will your plugin have a way to set this?

Post Reply