Can Not Open Port for W800RF

Post Reply
Message
Author
Humanzee
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 1:09 pm

Can Not Open Port for W800RF

#1 Post by Humanzee » Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:02 pm

Ok, so I've been doing battle with my com ports today trying to get the w800rf plugin to work. I have verified that the W80ORF is in fact on Com 2, I accessed it and saw data in two other programs. But this is all I get in the log.
10/02/2011 10:55:33.843 PM - Found my Object Name: W800RF-Pleepleus
10/02/2011 10:55:33.860 PM - Port is set to: 2
10/02/2011 10:55:33.864 PM - Debounce is set to: 120
10/02/2011 10:55:33.875 PM - Can not open COM2. Unable to open COM2
10/02/2011 10:55:33.876 PM - Finished Loading: W800RF-Pleepleus

Earlier, I was able to get a message like the below, but it did not produce any data in osa. No new objects from learning mode, no response to manually added objects And when on port 17 the W800RF could not be connected to from other applications.

10/02/2011 09:02:41.424 PM - Found my Object Name: W800RF-Pleepleus
10/02/2011 09:02:41.449 PM - Port is set to: 17
10/02/2011 09:02:41.456 PM - Debounce is set to: 120
10/02/2011 09:02:41.466 PM - Finished Loading: W800RF-Pleepleus

This is the 3.0 plugin, running in OSA 032 that Brian complied for me to test.

Humanzee
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 1:09 pm

Re: Can Not Open Port for W800RF

#2 Post by Humanzee » Mon Oct 03, 2011 6:08 pm

Doing some trouble shooting I noticed in process explorer that both the OSAEService.exe and the OSAE Manager.exe have the com port dll running. Not sure if they will conflict with each other or if this should not matter.
c:\Windows\assembly\NativeImages_v4.0.30319_64\System.Runtime.Seri#\11a7b044d8ed163b690a74486484e08f\System.Runtime.Serialization.ni.dll


I think anyway, actually I don't know what that dll does, but it has the word serial in it, ha.

User avatar
bwoodworth
Site Admin
Posts: 1563
Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 6:49 am
Location: California

Re: Can Not Open Port for W800RF

#3 Post by bwoodworth » Mon Oct 03, 2011 6:52 pm

I'm pretty sure the System.Runtime.Serialization library has nothing to do with the utilization of the serial port. :D
Brian

Humanzee
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 1:09 pm

Re: Can Not Open Port for W800RF

#4 Post by Humanzee » Thu Oct 06, 2011 11:09 am

OK, after several reboots while working on non OSA related software, the W800RF has just started working. No real clue why is didn't work from the start, but it seems to be logging events and adding objects now.

User avatar
bwoodworth
Site Admin
Posts: 1563
Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 6:49 am
Location: California

Re: Can Not Open Port for W800RF

#5 Post by bwoodworth » Thu Oct 06, 2011 11:54 am

Fantastic! Sometimes computers just like to do whatever they want.
Brian

Vaughn
Site Admin
Posts: 1432
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 2:17 pm

Re: Can Not Open Port for W800RF

#6 Post by Vaughn » Thu Oct 06, 2011 9:07 pm

The W800Rf always did that to me. Back in vCrib, I tried to move it to USB, and it started scrambling the codes. I rebooted a few times and it just started magically working.


Also though, you need to check the serial port setting for Baud Rate, I think it is 4800 and the serial ports default is 9600... Some settings like that in combonation with my reboots were to blame I think.



Vaughn

Post Reply