X10 DS12A Sensors

Message
Author
Vaughn
Site Admin
Posts: 1432
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 2:17 pm

Re: X10 DS12A Sensors

#11 Post by Vaughn » Wed Feb 20, 2013 8:18 pm

Not sure what I can do about the X10 API supporting the security codes. I don't think X10 will ever update it, hear they are working on a replacement for the CM15A.

Vaughn

Automate
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2010 1:44 pm
Location: US

Re: X10 DS12A Sensors

#12 Post by Automate » Sat Mar 02, 2013 11:11 am

The http://sourceforge.net/apps/mediawiki/m ... =Main_Page project is a CM15A/CM19A driver for Linux. Since the X10 SDK does not work on Linux they reverse engineered the direct communications protocol of the CM15A/CM19A. They even figured out what the security devices (such as the DS10A and DS12A) send.

I can think of two ways to use this knowledge with a OSA plugin.

1. Take the mochad c code and remove any Linux specific logic and replace it with Windows code. Compile this into a COM component. Then call features in the COM component from the .Net plugin code.

2. Port the required features of the mochad c code into say a C# plugin code.

Datahead
Posts: 710
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 6:50 am
Location: San Marcos, Ca.

Re: X10 DS12A Sensors

#13 Post by Datahead » Sat Mar 02, 2013 12:13 pm

I have to ask this given all the changes coming up with the 4.0 version. Is the CM11A and the W800RF still going to be supported? The reason I ask is those two devices are the backbone of my system right now.

Ron

Automate
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2010 1:44 pm
Location: US

Re: X10 DS12A Sensors

#14 Post by Automate » Sat Mar 02, 2013 2:01 pm

Yes

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2

DNE
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 8:43 am

Re: X10 DS12A Sensors

#15 Post by DNE » Thu Sep 12, 2013 9:01 am

After some experimentation I find that CM15A can read the codes sent from a DS10A. The generic device code is "M1". ActiveHomeScriptLib returns the following string when a DS10A is triggered

"recvrf socialite m1,aa,bb,cc,dd,84 -1 ..."

rcvrf = received rf code
socialite = string indicating sender is a DS10A
m1 = generic house and unit code
aa,bb,cc,dd = hex code, unique device id, different for each different DS10A
84 = hex code for contact "closed"; 04 = "open"
-1 = key up/down code; -1 for up, 0 for down; sent when the contact first opens/closes and again when closes/opens (or the other way round)
.... = date/time stamp

With this information one can write some intelligent code to do whatever one likes. I am updating my Delphi application to take advantage of this.

DNE
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 8:43 am

Re: X10 DS12A Sensors

#16 Post by DNE » Thu Sep 12, 2013 5:30 pm

By the way, DS10A also automatically sends a status string about once an hour. This, I believe, is intended to synchronize and update the controller memory, in case of power disruption etc.

Automate
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2010 1:44 pm
Location: US

Re: X10 DS12A Sensors

#17 Post by Automate » Thu Sep 12, 2013 5:50 pm

Thanks for the info. Sound like we should be able to add this feature to the plugin.

Vaughn
Site Admin
Posts: 1432
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 2:17 pm

Re: X10 DS12A Sensors

#18 Post by Vaughn » Fri Sep 20, 2013 3:19 pm

The other reason for the DS10A hourly ping is for Battery Checking. So I could write scripts that say If any DS10A's Last Updated date is more than 4 hours, tell me so I know to check the batteries on it.

Well, here is the bad news for me: When working on my system a couple weeks ago, my CM15A antenna stopped seeing any signals. Even with OSA off, it should have passed them to the power line, so my remotes stopped working and stuff. I went to order a replacement right away and X10.com was out of stock, so I am not able to work on it currently, or I would love to add that support.

My second issue, and why I have not been around in the last week or so is I bought a new gaming rig so I could retire my netbook and run the house on my old gaming rig instead so it would be much faster. But now I have to do that procedure to wrap the X10 SDK in a com object, to work on the 64-bit machine. So I have not even tried to fix it since I got my new machine. But I love my CM15A, so I will try to get it all going again.

Vaughn

jpro1001
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2013 3:14 pm

Re: X10 DS12A Sensors

#19 Post by jpro1001 » Fri Dec 13, 2013 3:19 pm

any more work on the plugin for supporting MS10A motion sensors? DNE, do you know where i can get ahp sdk? is this it it included this the following active home pro installer? or is this something completely different for Europe?

Activehome pro download link:
http://www.marmitek.com/en/support/product-information/software.php?search=CM15&send=Send

jpro1001
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2013 3:14 pm

Re: X10 DS12A Sensors

#20 Post by jpro1001 » Fri Dec 13, 2013 3:36 pm

i think i have the sdk installed for owa to work even. so that's probably ok. I can get my egale eye motion sensor working with osa fine, but my ms10a isn't working. Any ideas? you said you got a response from your ds10a, did you do that outside of osa? I'm knew to osa, but i'm familiar with c#/vb.net. Is there a way to run this cm15a plugin in debug mode to step thru any responses? how do you guys debug it?

Post Reply