[Official Thread] Z-Wave Plugin Support Thread

Locked
Message
Author
User avatar
bwoodworth
Site Admin
Posts: 1563
Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 6:49 am
Location: California

[Official Thread] Z-Wave Plugin Support Thread

#1 Post by bwoodworth » Mon Feb 07, 2011 10:04 am

Change Log
v0.3.17 - Added tamper alarm support for door/window sensors. More devices supported. Updated OZW library.
v0.3.3 - Added Node neighbor update and enable polling methods to each device object type. Compiled with the latest OpenZWave library.
v0.3.1 - Added Support for Aeon Labs Smart Energy Switch and Home Energy Monitor
v0.2.6 - Added support for changing unit mode and fan mode
v0.2.3 - Added Heat and Cool setpoint support for thermostats

PLEASE READ
If you are having problem getting the Z-Wave plugin to work please make sure you have the .NET 2.0 framework installed. You can download it here.


Device Support Requests
There are hundreds of Z-Wave devices on the market which is great for us, but also can make it difficult to make sure Open Source Automation supports each type of device. The only way I can add support for devices that I do not own is either by generous people donating the hardware or with the help of users that already have the device. If you fall into the second category and would like to have your device supported, please follow these steps.

1. Make sure your device has been included in your network.
2. Start OSA, set the Debug property on the SYSTEM object to TRUE and enable the ZWave plugin
3. Monitor the ZWave log and wait until the line "All Nodes Queries" appears. This may take a minute or two as the plugin queries all the nodes on your network.
4. Stop OSA
5. Download the attached file and expand it somewhere on your computer.
6. Run the OZWForm program. Select the port your controller is on and click start. You will see it loading your nodes one by one.
7. Once all the nodes are loaded, right click on the device you want to add support for and select Properties.
8. Take a screenshot of the popup Properties box.
9. Try to manipulate your device as you would expect using these controls and note how your device responds to each control.
10. Reply to this thread with the following info:

a. Device name/manufacturer/link to any info
b. Node ID on your network so I can reference the logs
c. Attach a zip of the following items
  • ZWave.log from OSA
  • screenshot of properties window from OZWForm
  • OZW_Log.txt that is created by OZWForm
d. List out what each of the controls did in controlling your device. i.e. "Checkbox labeled 'switch' turned it on/off"

Once I have all this information I can try to add support for your device.
Attachments
OZWForm.zip
(278.76 KiB) Downloaded 820 times
Brian

sickboy007
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 2:56 pm

Re: [Official Thread] Z-Wave Plugin Support Thread - Thermos

#2 Post by sickboy007 » Wed Feb 16, 2011 6:01 pm

Zwave Thermostat Trane/Schlage - Schlage LiNK TZEMT400AB32 Trane Remote Energy Management Thermostat
http://link.schlage.com/Products/Pages/Thermostat.aspx

Node 13

Attached is a zip
ZWave.log from OSA
Two screen shots
OZW_Log.txt that is created by OZWForm

When I first clicked properties it gave me this first screen. I then sent a power off command (This sends it into ESM (Energy Saving Mode - Setback Temperatures) I sent a power on command (This put it back in normal running mode running off of the normal schedule)
After I did this I clicked properties It gave me the second screen.

I could not find any functionality with Parameter 25 or 132.

The Hour and minute parameters time hour and minute.

I could not find any functionality with Basic.
Attachments
++ZwaveTSTAT.zip
(181.8 KiB) Downloaded 212 times

User avatar
bwoodworth
Site Admin
Posts: 1563
Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 6:49 am
Location: California

Re: [Official Thread] Z-Wave Plugin Support Thread - Thermos

#3 Post by bwoodworth » Wed Feb 16, 2011 6:42 pm

sickboy007 wrote: When I first clicked properties it gave me this first screen. I then sent a power off command (This sends it into ESM (Energy Saving Mode - Setback Temperatures) I sent a power on command (This put it back in normal running mode running off of the normal schedule)
After I did this I clicked properties It gave me the second screen.
You should wait until you get a popup message saying all the nodes have been queried before going to properties. Did you do this? I think there should be a couple other properties.
The Hour and minute parameters time hour and minute.
What do you mean by this?
Brian

sickboy007
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 2:56 pm

Re: [Official Thread] Z-Wave Plugin Support Thread

#4 Post by sickboy007 » Wed Feb 16, 2011 7:47 pm

I did it again and this is the log that I got.

I still get the same two property screens.

Sorry, I meant that the hour and minute will change the time hour and minute values on the t-stat.
Attachments
OZW_Log.zip
(4.2 KiB) Downloaded 229 times

sickboy007
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 2:56 pm

Re: [Official Thread] Z-Wave Plugin Support Thread

#5 Post by sickboy007 » Wed Feb 16, 2011 7:58 pm

I just wanted to add this log file. It is the same as the previous one except that the heat came on for a few minutes and it gave unsolicited updates.
Attachments
OZW_Log - Copy.zip
(4.26 KiB) Downloaded 214 times

User avatar
bwoodworth
Site Admin
Posts: 1563
Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 6:49 am
Location: California

Re: [Official Thread] Z-Wave Plugin Support Thread

#6 Post by bwoodworth » Wed Feb 16, 2011 8:27 pm

I have posted an update. You should see a couple more methods for the thermostat object type to set the heat and cool setpoints. Let me know how that goes.
Brian

sickboy007
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 2:56 pm

Re: [Official Thread] Z-Wave Plugin Support Thread

#7 Post by sickboy007 » Wed Feb 16, 2011 8:36 pm

I still get the same version when I download. Did you replace the one in the first post?

User avatar
bwoodworth
Site Admin
Posts: 1563
Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 6:49 am
Location: California

Re: [Official Thread] Z-Wave Plugin Support Thread

#8 Post by bwoodworth » Wed Feb 16, 2011 8:44 pm

where are you downloading from? should be here: http://www.opensourceautomation.com/plugins.php
Brian

sickboy007
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 2:56 pm

Re: [Official Thread] Z-Wave Plugin Support Thread

#9 Post by sickboy007 » Wed Feb 16, 2011 9:26 pm

Sorry, I thought that you were talking about an update to the OZWForm.

Upgraded to version 2.3

I get the extra fields, but it does not change the setpoints. I also still do not get the actual temperature.
Attachments
zwavetstatv23.png
zwavetstatv23.png (91.19 KiB) Viewed 16381 times

User avatar
bwoodworth
Site Admin
Posts: 1563
Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 6:49 am
Location: California

Re: [Official Thread] Z-Wave Plugin Support Thread

#10 Post by bwoodworth » Wed Feb 16, 2011 10:24 pm

I updated the OZWForm application in the first post. Try running that again.

I also updated the plugin to give some more log info, so try that as well and post the log
Brian

Locked