Aeotec DoorBell

Post Reply
Message
Author
scallawa
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2014 4:18 pm

Aeotec DoorBell

#1 Post by scallawa » Mon Mar 21, 2016 6:43 pm

I got an Aeotec Doorbell. It works in the sense that if you push the doorbell it rings but nothing registers in OSA as far as I can see. I would expect to see something in the event log.

I did notice in the objects list it just shows up as Zwave under object and type. I am assuming that the "definition" for this device is unknown to OSA. If this is the cause, is there a way that I can fix it?

Just saw that there is a process for requesting the addition of new devices. I have attached the properties window from the OZWForm. When I click the switch radio dial button the doorbell rings.
Parameter 2 Controls the number of times it rings
Parameter 3 Unknown
Parameter 5 I think this choses the wav file that it plays. Changing the number changed the ringtone.
Parameter 8 This is volume Control
Parameter 10 Unknown
Attachments
OZW_Log.zip
(34.41 KiB) Downloaded 110 times
Screenshot 2016-03-21 20.19.50.png
Screenshot 2016-03-21 20.19.50.png (32.09 KiB) Viewed 6206 times

User avatar
bwoodworth
Site Admin
Posts: 1563
Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 6:49 am
Location: California

Re: Aeotec DoorBell

#2 Post by bwoodworth » Mon Mar 21, 2016 8:35 pm

Check the Plugins/ZWave/config/aeotec directory. is there an file called doorbell_gen5.xml there? If not, put the attached file there and restart OSA.
Attachments
doorbell_gen5.xml
(5.31 KiB) Downloaded 144 times
Brian

scallawa
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: Aeotec DoorBell

#3 Post by scallawa » Mon Mar 21, 2016 8:47 pm

I downloaded the file and placed it in the aeon_labs folder. I then restarted OSA but it still isn't recognized.

User avatar
bwoodworth
Site Admin
Posts: 1563
Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 6:49 am
Location: California

Re: Aeotec DoorBell

#4 Post by bwoodworth » Mon Mar 21, 2016 9:10 pm

there should be an aeotec directory. I updated the ZWave plugin with all the latest config files. You can get it from the Plugins page.
Brian

scallawa
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: Aeotec DoorBell

#5 Post by scallawa » Mon Mar 21, 2016 10:49 pm

Maybe I have a bigger problem going on. I installed your version of the plugin, verified the creation of the aeotec directory and restarted OSA. Everything still looked the same. I then deleted the Zwave plugin and the Zwave device, reinstalled the plugin and restarted OSA. They still looked the same. The object types pages showed a ZWave plugin and a ZWave device. The only configuration data that I added to the ZWave plugin was to set the com port to 3. I did not make any other changes to either the plugin or the ZWave device. I saw mention of a Home ID but I am not sure if I am supposed to set that and what an acceptable value would be.

Should there be three ZWave entries on the object types page? I only show the plugin and the ZWave device. I have the z-stick 2 gen 5 and the aeotec doorbell system.

I should also mention that I am running 0.4.8 on mysql 5.7.

Thanks for all your help.

Below are the last entries in the various log files.
Debug log
Debug Trace
03-21 23:30:52.03 Event_Trigger is running for SYSTEM PLUGINS ERRORED system_count_plugins -> object_property_set -> event_log_add -> event_log_after_insert
03-21 23:30:40.01 Event_Trigger is running for SYSTEM PLUGINS ERRORED system_count_plugins -> object_property_set -> event_log_add -> event_log_after_insert
03-21 23:29:00.08 Event_Trigger is running for SYSTEM PLUGINS ERRORED system_count_plugins -> object_property_set -> event_log_add -> event_log_after_insert
03-21 23:28:56.07 Event_Trigger is running for SYSTEM PLUGINS ERRORED system_count_plugins -> object_property_set -> event_log_add -> event_log_after_insert
03-21 23:25:14.07 Event_Trigger is running for SYSTEM PLUGINS ERRORED system_count_plugins -> object_property_set -> event_log_add -> event_log_after_insert

Server log
03-21 23:35:13.06 DEBUG WUnderground Checking for Dawn/Dusk (Dawn start: 07:05:00, Dawn end: 07:05:00 Dusk start: 19:19:00 Dusk end: 19:19:00)
03-21 23:30:55.00 INFO Speech Said All Plugins are Running
03-21 23:30:52.08 DEBUG SERVICE-scallawa Method in queue for: Speech Method: Speech.SPEAK,[SYSTEM.Plugins],
03-21 23:30:52.06 INFO Script Processor Executed Script
03-21 23:30:52.05 INFO Script Processor Script From: SYSTEM
03-21 23:30:52.05 INFO Script Processor Found Script: Plugin Errored
03-21 23:30:52.05 DEBUG SERVICE-scallawa Method in queue for: Script Processor Method: Script Processor.RUN SCRIPT,24,SYSTEM

Method Log
03-21 23:30:52.06 Speech SPEAK [SYSTEM.Plugins] Script Processor
03-21 23:30:52.03 Script Processor RUN SCRIPT Plugin Errored SYSTEM SYSTEM
03-21 23:30:40.03 Speech SPEAK [SYSTEM.Plugins] Script Processor
03-21 23:30:40.01 Script Processor RUN SCRIPT Plugin Errored SYSTEM SYSTEM
03-21 23:29:01.00 Speech SPEAK [SYSTEM.Plugins] Script Processor
03-21 23:29:00.08 Script Processor RUN SCRIPT Plugin Errored

Event Log
03-21 23:30:52.03 SYSTEM Plugins Errored 0 SYSTEM
03-21 23:30:51.09 ZWave Started me
03-21 23:30:40.01 SYSTEM Plugins Errored 1 SYSTEM
03-21 23:30:39.07 ZWave Stopped me
03-21 23:29:00.08 SYSTEM Plugins Errored 0 SYSTEM
03-21 23:29:00.06 ZWave Started me

Vaughn
Site Admin
Posts: 1432
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 2:17 pm

Re: Aeotec DoorBell

#6 Post by Vaughn » Mon Mar 21, 2016 11:38 pm

All of those log entries are just related to the system starting up. It counts stopped plugins as in error while starting.

I did not see any logs from ZWave.

I can't really help much on ZWave anyway, but the plugin error counts are on me, so I thought I would mention that is normal in 048.


Vaughn

User avatar
bwoodworth
Site Admin
Posts: 1563
Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 6:49 am
Location: California

Re: Aeotec DoorBell

#7 Post by bwoodworth » Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:21 pm

Try the following steps:

1. Stop the OSA service
2. Clear the Server Logs
3. Delete the ZWave objects that have been created. This should include anything with and address that starts with 'Z'. Probably Z1, Z2, etc.
4. Delete any Object types that have been created except the one for that has a base type of Plugin.
5. Delete the OZW_Log and zwcfg_ files in the PSA/Plugins/ZWave directory.
6. Start OSA and monitor the Server Log.
Brian

scallawa
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: Aeotec DoorBell

#8 Post by scallawa » Thu Mar 24, 2016 5:57 pm

The only ZWave object that was created was called ZWave Zwave.

I tried removing the object several times including removing the plugin as well. What worked was deleting the device from device manager. It was labeled as UZB on com port 3. I had used the updated driver from Aeotec initially. When I removed the device I told it to delete the driver file as well. I rebooted and launched OSA and it detected the doorbell right away. Device manager now lists it as a USB serial device.

Thanks for all your help and suggestions.

User avatar
bwoodworth
Site Admin
Posts: 1563
Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 6:49 am
Location: California

Re: Aeotec DoorBell

#9 Post by bwoodworth » Fri Mar 25, 2016 7:28 am

Did the doorbell object get created in OSA as you would expect? I have been thinking about getting that doorbell as well since my current one broke. I would love to make sure it is working before deciding to buy it.
Brian

Post Reply