Nest announces smart home API

General discussion about Open Source Automation
Message
Author
Automate
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2010 1:44 pm
Location: US

Re: Nest announces smart home API

#31 Post by Automate » Fri Jun 05, 2015 3:16 am

That would be great. Now that the actual thermostat heat/cool status is available it would be nice if the nest thermostat object state matches that used by other OSA thermostat types object-type-requirements-for-base-type- ... -t452.html.

So the state is what the thermostat is telling the HVAC system to do at the current time and the user selected mode (heat, cool, heat/cool ) becomes a property of the object.

Automate
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2010 1:44 pm
Location: US

Re: Nest announces smart home API

#32 Post by Automate » Tue Sep 08, 2015 6:25 am

@fiveHellions

Looks like the Nest plugin is creating a new connection to the Nest cloud without disconnecting the old connection. If the plugin is left running for an extended time, I get pages and pages of connections that can be seen in TCPView
nest connections.png
nest connections.png (87.67 KiB) Viewed 3145 times

fiveHellions
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 12:12 pm

Re: Nest announces smart home API

#33 Post by fiveHellions » Tue Sep 08, 2015 7:40 am

Yikes. I will check into it.

User avatar
kherron
Posts: 646
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 10:44 am
Location: Jacksonville, Fl.
Contact:

Re: Nest announces smart home API

#34 Post by kherron » Sat Jun 23, 2018 10:48 am

@fivehellions

I just got a new NEST thermostat and I'm trying to get the NEST plugin to work.
I have it installed, but I'm only getting to this point

Code: Select all

No pin provided. Please visit https://home.nest.com/login/oauth2?client_id=ff5f73fb-2fd9-472f-ba3d-73cb236a1808&state=STATE to get a pin code. Update PIN property on Nest Plugin object and run method Get Access Token. 
However, when I go to the webpage mentioned above to get my PIN, I get an error when I click the "Allow" button.

Any Ideas?

User avatar
kherron
Posts: 646
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 10:44 am
Location: Jacksonville, Fl.
Contact:

Re: Nest announces smart home API

#35 Post by kherron » Mon Jun 25, 2018 12:53 pm

OK,

I got most of this figured out.
For starters, the default version of NewtonSoft.JSON that is used is version 3.5.0.0
The Nest plugin requires version 6.0.0.0 + to work., So you need to upgrade or copy the version from the plugin to your main OSA folder.

Secondly, @Fivehellions put some "Hard-Coded" information in the plugin.
It is apparent that he is no longer keeping up with his plugins, nor his account on the Nest developers site.

So, Once I signed up for my own Nest Developer account and created my own OAuth2 Nest Client, I was able to get the plugin back up and running!! :D
This plugin has already been upgraded for 4.9. So I think I might work on an update for it, and make it so it is not dependent on any other users information.

Jessiryan
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2019 3:43 am
Location: Sterling, VA
Contact:

Re: Nest announces smart home API

#36 Post by Jessiryan » Wed Apr 03, 2019 5:37 am

I have played with Nest before. And it was good. But the problem was programming it’s not for a non-techie. We got Hogar Controls this time. Especially, because my wife insisted on going simple with technology. To be honest, I do like their smart home app. The settings are simple. And the user interface is very friendly. I was a little skeptical about performance. But Hogar Controls delivers what they claim. It is suitable for both techie and non-techie people. I couldn’t find the link to its app details but I do have a link for their website Hogar Controls Hope that helps.
This is Jessi Ryan working completed my master degree in home automation and working as marketing automation specialist. Like to explore more about Smart home products.

Post Reply